Sen16r Year

Here we are. Senior year is finally upon us. I remember hearing about high school from my older cousins when I was in grade school. They all told me that high school goes by quickly. However, at the time, I did not believe them in any way. I didn’t think that four years could suddenly just flash before my eyes as they were describing. I completely understand that mindset now. For me, it still has not set in that I’m a senior, that most of my friends are seniors. I remember freshman year, and I cringe. I remember not knowing how to properly do makeup and not being familiar with other students or the high school setting, in general. I felt awkward in my uniform and I didn’t think five minutes to get to class was enough time. Being a senior, my uniform feels like everyday, typical clothes. I don’t even consider how I look in the uniform anymore. It’s just so routine. I’ve also found that five minutes is enough time to talk to friends, get my books, and slow walk it to class. So much has changed since freshman year, and a plethora of memories have been made.

From home games, to spirit week, to city tournament, all of these events have brought us together as a community, and have made memories no one can replace. One thing I’ve quickly realized as a newly made senior is that this is the last time all of those events will occur for our class. I haven’t taken this very well. However, I’m trying to make the most of these last events. I’m doing this by attending all the football games and making the most of this spirit week.  One senior perk that I’ve come to know this spirit week is toga day. I’m really reminded that I’m a senior when I google the words “how to tie a toga.” It’s a tradition every senior class goes through, and it stuns me that my class has finally arrived to THE toga day.

Spirit week is always full of fun. Add-On Day allowed people to adorn themselves with ties and scarfs. Frat/Prep Day was my favorite because the stereotypical frat boy look is always fun to wear. Disney Day was full of laughs as kids dressed up as Darla from “Finding Nemo,” Boo from “Monsters Inc.,” and other fantastic characters. Farmers Day allowed kids to embrace their inner-country selves with cowboy boots and plaid. As for my fantastic senior class, we showed just how fun being Greek can be with our togas. Finally, the week drew to a close with the annual Black and Gold theme. I love this theme because we get to let our school pride really shine through, and we get to wear sweatpants. As spirit week drew to a close, I realized I’ll never get to experience this known, SHG tradition again. It breaks my heart, but I’m glad I got to show my spirit for four years and make memories for spirit week. They are memories I’ll always treasure. Memories of being a cyclone. That’s all for now. Catch ya later, cyclones. – Kate

DSCN9665

The SHG seniors lead the student section in cheers.

Photo Credits: Jessika Angeli