Made in the A.M.

Scratch your iTunes cards and redeem your account, the One Direction album, “Made in the A.M.,” is available to purchase! The charming British boy band has done it yet again.

one direction
The cover art of One Direction’s fifth album “Made in the A.M.” released November 13th.

One Direction consists of Niall Horan, Harry Styles, Louis Tomlinson, and Liam Payne. Their fifth album captures a harmony that simply causes a euphoric dance. From rhythmic, complex melodies to simple-four chord lullabies, the boys have captured valuable expression into an album.

The style of the album is seemingly different than the other four albums they have produced. It is different due to the fact that band member Zayn Malik has resigned. Malik was a key singer in the band and he added a lot of soul to the previous albums. Even though the tempo feels different when you listen to it, the album still has a vast amount of potential.

I think One Direction is creating and forming a new style. They are not the same boys they were five years ago. They are edgier with their lyrics and they’ve gone to different lengths to achieve a new sound. This new sound, in my opinion, is something folksy and festive.

Looking back at their first album, it’s very modern and pop-culture oriented. I think they’re trying to embrace a new image and this is their way from moving on from the exile of Zayn, which is very appropriate.

Let’s talk about a few personal favorite songs of mine. My first favorite would have to be “I Want to Write You a Song.” The song begins with a simple acoustic feel, nothing too intricate. It then slowly progresses into a very soulful anthem.

When I listen to songs, I like to imagine the setting and vibe I attain from it. When I hear this song, I remember when I was under the stars in Colorado, roaming near a valley. In that moment, I felt very spiritual and I really appreciated the beauty of my surroundings.

Everything just felt so simple. The song is very simple and beautiful, just like how I felt in Colorado. When I hear the song, it makes me think of that time and I  love it even more.

I really applaud Louis Tomlinson’s vocal cords in this song. They are very soft and raspy, they are not overpowering. His voice is almost endearing when I hear this song.

Another personal favorite from the album is “A.M.” The ballad opens with Harry Styles singing the refrain, no music playing behind him. I believe this opens up the song perfectly because it gives you a chance to really hear his voice without the distractions of the background music.

I’m in love with the chorus when this song plays. There is a light beat of a drum and a subtle sound of an electric guitar that isn’t overpowering. I’m not being dramatic when I say this song makes my heart feel whole.

Niall Horan provides imagery when he comments, “It’s pretty much self-explanatory. Just sitting around with your friends at the end, you can picture it, it’s like the end of the night after a big party and there’s a few of you left and you’re just sitting around talking [nonsense].”

Another song that I quite enjoy is “History.” It begins with a celebrated, coordinated clapping, and then the guitar comes in to add a cheeky little melody. This song represents the teamwork between the fans and the band, especially the lyrics “You and me got a whole lot of history, so don’t let it go, we can make some more. We can live forever.”

 Horan explains when he says, “It talks about the history between us and the fans, all the time we spent on the road, the crew, the people who have been with us from day one. It’s just history of everything, everything about the last five years.”

Tomlinson elaborates, “It’s just a perfect song actually for the timing now and for everything. For us to give that message across to the fans, I think is really really cool.”

Yet another personal favorite of mine is “Wolves.” This little tune is really different from their other previous songs. The beginning of the song starts out almost like a jazz song. It then transforms into their usual sound.

The song is about the band saving a girl from the not-so excellent guys one will meet in life. They sing, “One by one I take them down. We can run and hide, ain’t going down without a fight.” Essentially, One Direction will save a girl from the guys that she comes across in life who have bad intentions.

One of the key ideas One Direction continues to add into each album is that they will protect and save you from disaster. They want to protect in a guardian angel sort of sense and I really admire that aspect of their albums.

The bands new style and sound has produced the perfect album. Their evolving style keeps fans interested and invested in their artistic vision. A plethora of songs on the album are euphoric and gentle, while others are edgy and passionate.

Listening to these new melodies has really brought a smile to my face and has made my heart feel light again. If you haven’t given the album a listen, you’re really missing out! You never know, one of these songs could end up being your new favorite that sticks with you for a long time. 

Leave a comment