Awaiting Acceptance

October just flew by and November was welcomed with open arms. November is a time for new beginnings, involving Thanksgiving feasts and playoff games. However, one major thing has ended due to the start of November. For many colleges, the application deadline was November 1. It was crazy to think that the stress of applying was over.

Whether you applied to one school or a plethora of worthy universities, the process was stressful. The only thing worse than actually applying is the wait itself. The wait is honestly a killer. Thoughts suffocate your mind, thoughts like “Did I get in?” or “Did they receive my application?” or “What if I’m not qualified enough?” The wait plays its own little mind games on you, making you second guess your confidence in acceptance.

For some, the wait can last weeks, months even. For others, the wait can’t even qualify as a “wait.” Their “wait” was so quick that they never even stressed about it. That’s what my experience was like. I only applied to one college. My first choice was the University of Kansas. My family has a legacy at KU, and I have been a Kansas Jayhawks fan from day one. As I grew older, I realized I wanted to work with journalism and advertising, hopefully making my way to the magazine industry.

My father got his journalism degree from KU. That only furthered my interest in KU. My dad and I are very similar in our views, and in our likes and dislikes.

My dad describes KU as one of the best times of his life. My mom, an ISU lady herself, even says that if she could go through the college process all over again, she would definitely want to go to KU.

I had heard of such great experiences from my cousins who had gone, and I went to visit myself. My dad became my personal tour guide. It was really cool to see my dad’s face light up when he reminisced about a memory that took place right where we were standing.

Since I hope to be apart of Greek life, he showed me where all the houses are at on campus. Later in the evening, we went to Massachusetts Street. Mass Street is where all the college kids go to shop, eat, or just hangout. On Mass Street we had the best burgers I’ve ever eaten and we strolled through the little shops.

The next day, I went on the official campus tour and got a feel for the academic life of KU. Everything about it made me feel so at home. KU had literally become my home away from home. I fell in love with the campus and I didn’t want to leave.

Leaving the campus to come home was so hard for me. If I had the choice, I’d move to KU tomorrow. Ever since the campus tour, I’ve been missing the feeling I got from KU. The feeling that this was my home and I belonged there.

One night in late September, I had made the bold move to finally submit my KU application. When I clicked the “submit” button, I couldn’t help but think that I had just applied for my new home.

A few days later, on October 3, I had just finished a lovely meal at Qdoba when I decided to take a glance at my inbox. There it was at the very top, addressed from University of Kansas, an email  entitled “Are you sitting down?”

When I clicked on the email, my heart actually stopped. I honestly forgot how to breathe for a few seconds as I read the words “Congrats! You’re a Jayhawk.”  I called my dad first thing and said to him, “ROCK CHALK I’M A JAYHAWK!”

This was it, I was officially accepted into the University of Kansas. I couldn’t believe that everything was falling into place. When I think about the campus and Mass Street, it’s crazy to think I’ll actually be living there in less than a year. It’s also a great thing to know that the major stress of senior year is over. Once you are accepted, you’ll feel a huge weight lift from your shoulders.

So relax, check your mailbox or inbox, and prepare to celebrate. If you haven’t heard back from your college in a few weeks, don’t worry about it! Whatever happens, happens.KU ONLINEAn aerial view of the University of Kansas campus. 

I’m a huge believer in fate and the idea that everything happens for a reason. If you don’t get in, then it wasn’t meant to be. Just stay positive, and remember that after this year, all the stress of applying and getting in won’t even matter because you’ll be where you’re supposed to be!

Leave a comment