The Hunger Games Comes to a Close

Real or Not Real: “Mockingjay: Part 2” was an excellent movie that glued me to my seat and my eyes to the screen? Real. The movie premiered on November 20, 2015, and it was a very exciting end to the story of Katniss Everdeen.

“Mockingjay: Part 2” begins right where “Mockingjay: Part 1” ends. The story follows Katniss and her many struggles to be the face of the rebellion against the Capitol. She keeps herself busy by fully embracing her role as Mockingjay and learning as much as she can about the Capitol. Katniss also tries to help Peeta Mellark recover from his imprisonment in the Capitol.

The two most impressive feats of the film are Katniss’ relationships and emotions towards other people and the movie’s suspense. Katniss’ relationships with many characters are strengthened in this movie. Everdeen becomes very close to her friends and even closer to her family, especially her sister Primrose.

Actress Jennifer Lawrence, who plays Katniss in the film, performed wonderfully in the emotional scenes of the film. There are many parts of the movie that deal will sadness and mourning, and I was so touched, that I started to tear up while I was watching.

Mockingjay katniss
Katniss Everdeen, played by Jennifer Lawrence, notches an arrow during a significant demonstration. Photo courtesy of Google Images.

For fans of the book series, “Mockingjay: Part 2” sticks very close to the book. I was pleased to see the plot stick with the books, but I also enjoyed the movie embellishments. During many of the scenes during the invasion of the Capitol, it was very suspenseful. I read the book before watching the movie, so I knew when certain parts were going to happen. I held my breath many times in the theatre, anticipating when certain events would unfold.

I was minutely disappointed by the movie, but only by small parts that happened in the book and not in the film. All in all, these small changes did not affect the epicness of the movie and my feelings toward it.

I give “Mockingjay: Part 2” five out of five stars. I consider this movie to be the best film of the Hunger Games franchise. I laughed, I cried, I gasped and I held my breath. I promise, “Mockingjay: Part 2” is worth seeing.

Leave a comment