Hello, I’m Sorry

On October 23, two of the largest musicians in the industry released singles. Justin Bieber and Adele released singles that both made the top ten charts.

Bieber’s song “Sorry” is the second single of three songs he decided to release from his unreleased album called, “Purpose.” On Twitter, Bieber told his fans “It’s my best work yet. Promise.”

He also talked about this being a new era of his music. More mature and developed than his previous albums, Bieber was ready to move on from his past and his previous reputation and sound. “There needs to come a time where they’re just like, ‘We get it.’ And I think putting out a song saying I’m sorry kinda puts the finishing icing on the cake. I’m ready to just move on,” said Bieber about having a new start.

Along with the pop song, Bieber also released a music video for the single. The music video is a dance video featuring an all female dance crew, directed and choreographed by Parris Goebel. Bieber is not shown throughout the entire music video.

Coincidentally, pop/alternative singer, Adele best known for her song “Rolling in the Deep,” decided to release a single on the same day Bieber’s “Sorry” was released.  One may suspect a bit of tension between the two artists due to releasing their singles on the same day. Bieber denies any tension by saying, “Here’s the thing,”  I’m such a big fan of Adele, so that doesn’t bother me not even one bit. I love her.” The only difference between the release of the two songs was Adele had not released a song or album in three years.

However, the silence did not go without explanation. “I have to take time and live a little bit. There were a good two years between my first and second albums, so it’ll be the same this time.” Adele clarified.

Now, Adele is back and better than ever. Adele’s new album, “25,” received a rating of five out of five stars on iTunes. “Hello” is the first and only single that has been released from the album so far.

Similar to Bieber, Adele’s album also signifies a new beginning. “My last record was a break up record, and if I had to label this one I would call it a make up record,” Adele typed in a tweet on October 21st. “‘25’ is about getting to know who I’ve become without realising” Adele continued.

Fans of both artists can anticipate new sounds and themes in the newest albums that have yet to come out.

Leave a comment