Ain’t No Party Like a Cyclone Party

FullSizeRender
My friend, Zoe Nelson, and I at this year’s City, celebrating our final year together. 

As a Cyclone throughout my entire high school career, my favorite part of all four years was City Tournament. With my love for basketball and student sections, I had always looked forward to the excitement that enchants each game.

From learning the poms dance to buying all three of the designed shirts, everything about it made my level of happiness soar to the sky. However, that’s all over now.

I will never be able to look forward to those riveting three days. All I can do now is look back. As I think about my past few city tournaments, I recall many details that made each year so memorable.

My freshman year, I had not a clue about what was so fascinating about city tournament. I remember awkwardly standing up with the poms during study hall, practicing strange choreographed hand motions and rethinking my buying of city tickets.

During freshman year, we used towels as our props and danced to the song “And We Danced” by Macklemore. I was so determined to learn the dance and I thought I would be shamed if I didn’t know it on the spot.

At the beginning of my first city game, I felt super uncomfortable. I was nervous about knowing the dance and remembering all of the cheers. Fortunately, everything worked out perfectly. I swung that towel around like my life depended on it.

I instantly began to fall in love with City Tournament. Sophomore year, I was ready and still nervous about remembering the dance routine. Since I was a sophomore, my class had better seats. Teachers quickly handed out our designated prop for the year which was a white pom pom.

However, I pulled a classic Kate move and wore five inch wedges to city, which made jumping around and standing very uncomfortable. My best piece of advice I can give is: do not wear heeled shoes to city.

My junior year at city was one of my favorites. This was the year our dance routine was choreographed to the song “Everytime we Touch” by Cascada. That year our prop was the flashlight sequence on our iPhones. It looked like an electric light show from afar.

The night of our dance, one of our rival teams learned that we were using our flashlights as part of our dance. So what did they do? They all turned on their flashlights and waved them around right before our dance. This enraged me. But who did it better, am I right? I think our spirit award from last year shows it.

Now we reach the end. This year I barely knew the dance and I blame that on senioritis. During City this year, I would look back on the freshman and just smile. I smile because I know that this is only the beginning for them.

This four year tradition imprints itself in your memory. It will be something I’ll always remember when I look back on my high school days. Cyclone Nation lives on in my favorite memories.  

FullSizeRender (1)
My buddy, Emily Osowski, and I took this picture together at 2015 City when we were Juniors.

Leave a comment