Teacher Appreciation Day

Catholic Schools Week, the first week of February, ends with Teacher Appreciation Day. When we all leave high school, we will have that one teacher we will never forget. Since we are still in high school, we can use this day to remember some of the best moments SHG students share with their favorite teachers.

“A favorite memory of mine was with my theology teacher, Mr. Blum. He’s a hockey fanatic and a lot of the girls in my class wanted to make a girls hockey team. We made a deal with him that if we got 25 girls to agree to play, he would coach us. We got a roster of 27 girls and decided on the team name The Blumblebees.” –Freshman Julia Curry

23174584622_0d6a596542_o
Rihab Habibi, an SHG chemistry and algebra teacher, helps junior Kate Janes with a question. Photo courtesy of SHG yearbook.

“Mrs. Habibi once sprayed a naughty kid with a suspicious liquid. It turned out just to be water.” –Sophomore Chandler Hady

“Well, freshman year, Mr. Zanger was teaching us about gravity and he spread his legs out and told someone to push him over, because when you have a wide base you generally won’t fall. Then he completely wiped out and he hit his head on the bottom of the desk. It was probably the funniest thing I’ve ever seen.” –Junior Alin Cetindag

“The best memory I had at SHG is being around Mrs. Cavanaugh. After having her around in grade school, it is nice to see her again in high school. She always has something nice to say and always wrote funny and encouraging notes on my drawings.” –Junior Andy Johnson

“I’d have to say that a favorite memory with a teacher would be Mr. Martin’s Sporcle competitions. I’d look forward to his class everyday because no matter what kind of day I was having, his class just made it 1,000 percent better.” –Senior Paige Ulrich

IMG_4477.PNG
I dump ice water on my old English teacher, Linda Smith, for the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Photo courtesy of Sabrina Johnston.

My favorite memory was sophomore year. I was chosen to dump ice water on my freshman English teacher, Mrs. Smith–we call her Smithl–for the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. It was great because I looked up to Smithl freshman year and it was for a good cause. Also, everyone wants to dump a bucket of freezing water on a teacher’s head, no matter who it is.

These stories along with our own experiences will stay in our minds for years after we leave SHG. We leave this school not only with knowledge, but also memories of our teachers and the relationships we had with them. For that, I believe all of the SHG students are thankful.

Leave a comment