Not As Scary As Expected

Want to watch a scary Christmas movie that makes you scream, hold your breath, and jump out of your seat every other scene? Then do not see “Krampus,” which premiered December 4, 2015. The movie was as spooky and realistic as the 1984 film “Gremlins,” which was very cheesy.

As far as horror films go, “Krampus” was disappointing. After watching the chilling movie trailer, I expected a cool and creepy movie about the monster Krampus attacking a broken family. Instead, I laughed at most of the movie. I must have jumped (in fright) maybe two times throughout the entire movie. The film also took some bizarre plot routes.

hqdefault
A gingerbread monster attacks Uncle Howard (played by David Koechner) with a candy cane. “Krampus” was more humorous than expected. Photo courtesy of Google Images.

Aside from the scary movie not being scary, it was rather entertaining. I could compare many of the people in the movie to my own family members, and the movie did give a good glimpse into the stresses of the holiday season. I found myself giggling at many of the “creepy” characters, such as Krampus’ evil gingerbread henchmen and “Purge” mask-wearing elves. (I know it sounds odd, but they both were in the movie.)

krampus-movie-bell-image
The family is reminded of Krampus by one of his bells. Photo courtesy of Google Images.

Although the plot seemed drawn out and took many different twists and turns, it was rather easy to follow. I was pleased with the ending of the film. I found the ending of the movie rather interesting. The ending is happy, but then the family is reminded of Krampus.

I give this movie two and a half stars out of five. “Krampus” was not scary, which really disappointed me, but I was entertained watching it. If you are looking for a scary Christmas movie, then “Krampus” is not a good choice. If you are looking for a more humorous and different Christmas movie to see with your friends or even family, then go ahead and watch “Krampus.” I just recommend that you do not waste your money to see the movie in the theatre.

Leave a comment