The Sad Senior

As the first semester comes to a well deserved close, I can’t help but think how fast this year has been going. As I write this, I can’t believe that I’ll be taking my last winter finals one, short week away. I remember freshman year, winter finals. I was completely stressed, almost to the point of mental breakdowns.

It seems like such a short time ago that I was preparing for my first hour theology final with Mrs. Bauer. I remember feeling as if finals would be the very thing that would be the end of my existence. As a senior, I know the idea of  “my finals will destroy my entire life” is only a myth. As long as you organize, prepare and keep a positive mind, you’ll be just fine.

I just find it insane that my last winter finals at SHG are upon me. What’s even more insane to me is that the juniors are slowly moving up to becoming seniors themselves (after my class graduates).

On Thursday, December 3 the junior class had their class ring ceremony. I remember my ring ceremony last year. I’ve worn my class ring every day since then. If I forget to put on my class ring I feel so weird, almost empty.

I wear it every day because it is a constant reminder of the best four years of my life and the amazing experiences I’ve gained from it. This year I am enrolled in a junior class. It is my fifth hour chemistry class. I loved being the only one with a class ring.

However, on the day of the ring ceremony, I realized that my precious time as a senior will not be a long one. Seeing all the juniors adorned with their class rings just reminded me how quickly time is flying.

As excited as I am to go to KU and have a fresh start, leaving all of my memories at SHG makes me sad. I’ve had such amazing experiences at SHG, and it’s hard to believe that in a few months I’ll be graduating from those memories.

 

IMG_6615
Throwback to my sophomore winter finals with retired Jerry the Janitor dressed as Santa.

I just have these emotions of both sadness and eagerness as my senior year keeps moving forward. I guess I could say I’m lucky to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard. With my senior year half way done, I think it’s important to carpe diem (seize the day) and make this the best year yet.


I plan to seize the day by making these last memories ones to remember. Going to every city tournament game, grasping every opportunity handed to me and spending more time with amazing friends I’ve made over the past four years is how I plan to spend the last semester. So when the time comes to say goodbye to SHG, I’ll only smile when I think of all the memories that made my high school experience something I’ll never forget. 

Leave a comment